Recordable DVD Players

Computers, gadgets, etc. Music/audio-related discussions should be posted in Audio Technology.
Ron

Recordable DVD Players

Postby Ron » Mon Jun 23, 2003 4:04 pm

I only just recently dipped my big toe into DVD waters with the online purchase of a region-free DVD player. Meaning I'm new to this and am, basically, unknowledgeable and an idiot. I'm now interested in getting a recordable DVD player, but bless those tech giants' hearts--there would appear to be another format war going on with competing and [natch] incompatible formats available.

Anyone know the merits/demerits to a unit with a huge hard drive for recording vs. removable recordable discs? Any one format [DVD -RW, DVD +RW, etc.] that appears superior to others? Oh BTW, editing is not really necessary. I'd simply like to use the thing like I would a VCR--recording movies and the like from TV.
Dr. Ron :mrgreen:TM "Do it 'till you're sick of it. Do it 'till you can't do it no more." Jesse Winchester

mikenycLI

Postby mikenycLI » Mon Jun 23, 2003 4:11 pm

Ron,

Sounds like youre going to have a great time viewing those other-than-Region-1 DVDs !!! It seems some of the overseas releases, get better treatment, with loads of extras !

Anything special you've been viewing ????

Ron

Postby Ron » Mon Jun 23, 2003 4:27 pm

Hey, Mike. No, the reason for region-free was to allow us [me + wife] to watch such American DVDs as Sex and the City and Law & Order in addition to the occasional DVD from rental shops here in Japan.
Dr. Ron :mrgreen:TM "Do it 'till you're sick of it. Do it 'till you can't do it no more." Jesse Winchester

mikenycLI

Postby mikenycLI » Mon Jun 23, 2003 4:35 pm

Ohhhhhhhhhh I see. You're going to have alot of fun with it, I'm sure !

Ron

Postby Ron » Mon Jun 23, 2003 4:46 pm