Forums dot lukpac.org

A place to discuss music and Mallard Fillmore
It is currently Sun Feb 18, 2018 5:25 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2003 10:48 am
Posts: 4384
Location: The Reality-Based Community
Interesting stuff, thanks. I ripped the same 2 tracks twice and got identical results for each set, so I guess I'm OK. (Even though my drive has a 2MB cache.)

Ryan

_________________
RQOTW: "I'll make sure that our future is defined not by the letters ACLU, but by the letters USA." -- Mitt Romney


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:47 pm 
Offline
Top Dog and Sellout
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 11:51 pm
Posts: 4584
Location: Madison, WI
One beef of mine is CD-TEXT in Jam. You can do it two ways:

1) Name regions of an SD II file
2) Name individual files

Either way, you can't change the names in the CD file itself. Plus, both ways seem to have length limitations. Obviously individual files are limited to 32 characters, and SD II regions seem to be as well, at least when read by Jam.

_________________
"I know because it is impossible for a tape to hold the compression levels of these treble boosted MFSL's like Something/Anything. The metal particulate on the tape would shatter and all you'd hear is distortion if even that." - VD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:51 pm 
Offline
Top Dog and Sellout
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 11:51 pm
Posts: 4584
Location: Madison, WI
Rspaight wrote:
Interesting stuff, thanks. I ripped the same 2 tracks twice and got identical results for each set, so I guess I'm OK. (Even though my drive has a 2MB cache.)


FYI...I'm pretty sure *all* drives have a cache of some sort. The issue is if it caches on DAE or not. Some drives do, and some don't. The problem is that *if* your drive hits an error (or can't produce an accurate stream), and the software tries to re-read that section, it will just get the cached data, rather than a new copy of it. I think EAC has some way around this, but I guess it isn't pretty.

I know people were pissed when some Plextor drives started doing this. I think one of the firmware upgrades for my 12x drive turned it on, although I haven't used that for a few years.

_________________
"I know because it is impossible for a tape to hold the compression levels of these treble boosted MFSL's like Something/Anything. The metal particulate on the tape would shatter and all you'd hear is distortion if even that." - VD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2003 10:48 am
Posts: 4384
Location: The Reality-Based Community
Yeah, you're right, now that I read the hydrogenaudio forums more closely. Foo.

I guess EAC is it for now. I don't have the patience to do two rips and compares every time I rip a disc. I'll keep an eye on that Python project.

Ryan

_________________
RQOTW: "I'll make sure that our future is defined not by the letters ACLU, but by the letters USA." -- Mitt Romney


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 1226
Location: Out of my fucking mind
Yeah, error correction is what makes EAC so special. There is some debate on how effective said correction is, though.

Of course, now that we're talking about this, I've just hit a snag on a disc I was ripping. The last track has unrecoverable errors. Surface is visually pristine. Cleaned it anyway. Still no go. Wonder if EAC could fix it? Damn! This is one of the rare moments that I wish I still had that Windows box.

To be fair, the times I've encountered unrecoverable errors on a disc on cdda2wav, EAC never could fix them either, no matter how long and hard it tried.

THIS is precisely why I'm happy to leave CDs behind. Yes, 99.9% of my discs are error-free, but when you encounter snags like this, it begins to dawn on you that CDs are, in their own way, as fragile as any analog medium. OK, they're more robust than that, but they are still physical media, and, as such, susceptible to the ravages of dirt, dust, and decay.

I'm happier with a secure rip, converted to lossless, and a foolproof checksum file. At least by cloning those files to a few different drives, I figure that the odds are more on my side.

_________________
If you love Hi-REZ TAPE HISS, you're REALLY going to love Stereo Central


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:41 pm 
Offline
Sellout
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 2209
Less dirt, dust, and decay than radial scratches and oxidization, though. I've seen astoundingly scratched discs produce perfect audio, while my Who Collection 2 *looks* fine, but apparently has all sorts of pressing nastiness going on.

_________________
-------------
"Fuckin' Koreans" - Reno 911


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2003 10:48 am
Posts: 4384
Location: The Reality-Based Community
I freakin' *refuse* to buy Virtual PC just to run EAC. No way, no how.

Once someone ports wine to OSX86, though, we'll talk...

Ryan

_________________
RQOTW: "I'll make sure that our future is defined not by the letters ACLU, but by the letters USA." -- Mitt Romney


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:42 pm 
Offline
Top Dog and Sellout
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 11:51 pm
Posts: 4584
Location: Madison, WI
You guys clearly don't have enough computers.

_________________
"I know because it is impossible for a tape to hold the compression levels of these treble boosted MFSL's like Something/Anything. The metal particulate on the tape would shatter and all you'd hear is distortion if even that." - VD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 1226
Location: Out of my fucking mind
Only when I got through a small portion of ripping 1000+ CDs did it hit home how many visually "perfect"-looking discs actually are screwed up in some way, pressing-wise or near-microscopic radial scratches (and I am nothing but meticulous in my handling of CDs). Then there's the nasty surprise of British PDO-pressed disc rot.

After suffering through this ordeal, I'll HAPPILY take FLACs w/checksum files over one more shiny disc -- ALWAYS!

_________________
If you love Hi-REZ TAPE HISS, you're REALLY going to love Stereo Central


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:17 pm 
Offline
Top Dog and Sellout
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 11:51 pm
Posts: 4584
Location: Madison, WI
Rspaight wrote:
There's a program called "Burrrn" out there that will burn a disc from a non-compliant CUE, and works with drives that EAC doesn't (which seems to be most of 'em). Works like a charm for me.


[scratches head once again]

I just popped the LiteOn into my PC. EAC kind of locked up when trying to detect write features, but after a restart things burned just fine. I don't know if I'm just lucky or what, but so far EAC has worked without issues in a laptop CD-RW/DVD-ROM drive, a laptop CD-RW/DVD-RW drive, a standard 48x CD-RW and the LiteOn CD-RW/DVD-RW.

I wonder if it's just something you guys have checked in EAC, since I thought on newer drives write commands were pretty standard.

_________________
"I know because it is impossible for a tape to hold the compression levels of these treble boosted MFSL's like Something/Anything. The metal particulate on the tape would shatter and all you'd hear is distortion if even that." - VD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:27 pm 
Offline
Senior Troll

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 4:48 pm
Posts: 293
Location: Bed
The Toshiba burner that I have in the laptop I'm using works with EAC, but gives me a friendly error message at the end of every write. Doesn't seem to be affecting the outcome of anything though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:31 pm 
Offline
Top Dog and Sellout
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 11:51 pm
Posts: 4584
Location: Madison, WI
Mike Hunte wrote:
The Toshiba burner that I have in the laptop I'm using works with EAC, but gives me a friendly error message at the end of every write. Doesn't seem to be affecting the outcome of anything though.


Look at the burning options. I *think* EAC defaults to pulling the tray back in after writing. On a laptop drive it can't do that, so it produces an error message. I think mine was doing that a few years ago.

_________________
"I know because it is impossible for a tape to hold the compression levels of these treble boosted MFSL's like Something/Anything. The metal particulate on the tape would shatter and all you'd hear is distortion if even that." - VD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 1226
Location: Out of my fucking mind
lukpac wrote:
You guys clearly don't have enough computers.


I have 4 Macs --- and EAC won't run on a single one of them.

The ONLY thing I used the Wintel box for was to run EAC on that cursed OS.

After a while it just seemed a bit, well, decadent to keep that WRETCHED OS around just for EAC.

_________________
If you love Hi-REZ TAPE HISS, you're REALLY going to love Stereo Central


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 12:20 am 
Offline
Senior Troll

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 4:48 pm
Posts: 293
Location: Bed
lukpac wrote:

Look at the burning options. I *think* EAC defaults to pulling the tray back in after writing. On a laptop drive it can't do that, so it produces an error message. I think mine was doing that a few years ago.


It does eject after write, so that must be the culprit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 9:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2003 10:48 am
Posts: 4384
Location: The Reality-Based Community
There's a new version of Max out that implements a cache-clearing comparison ripper. It's still in shakedown mode, and there's no attempt at error *correction*, but looks like a big step forward for OS X ripping.

http://sbooth.org/Max/

Ryan

_________________
RQOTW: "I'll make sure that our future is defined not by the letters ACLU, but by the letters USA." -- Mitt Romney


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group