anyone here use foobar2000?

From Edison cylinders to pre-amps to ProTools: talk about it here.
krabapple

anyone here use foobar2000?

Postby krabapple » Fri Oct 01, 2004 12:16 pm

Sometimes I get faster turnaround on answershere, so I thought I'd ask thse noob questions:

1) not being a programmer, I find the task of formatting of title display info and such to be daunting -- is there a guide to the syntax somewhere? I need to learn how to, for example, make tracks that have a 'classical' genre tag display the info that's in the 'composer' tag when playing.

2) I want to try kernel streaming -- how do I activate it?

( foobar2000 is open source software for playing audio tracks from your Windows platform -- akin to an *extremely* user-configurable version of Winamp or Media Player. "Some of the basic features include ReplayGain support, low memory footprint and native support for several popular audio formats." )
"I recommend that you delete the Rancid Snakepit" - Grant

Xenu
Sellout

Postby Xenu » Fri Oct 01, 2004 1:58 pm

hydrogenaudio is probably a better place to ask. I tried Foobar for a while, but never really had the time to invest in becoming a power user.
-------------
"Fuckin' Koreans" - Reno 911

krabapple

Postby krabapple » Fri Oct 01, 2004 4:05 pm

I'll definitely be asking at HA -- jsut thought I'd try here first. I'd like to become a power user of f2000. It seems to ahve the potential to everything I might want. I've been using it mostly in 'default' mode for the past few weeks and I'm already quite impressed with what I can do.

Phil Elliott

Postby Phil Elliott » Sat Oct 02, 2004 5:41 pm

Can't answer the first question, but to get Kernel Streaming, go Foobar 2000>Preferences>Output - you then select the output method from the drop down menu over on the right. Then highlight Kernel Streaming on the left to alter the kernel streaming settings. First time you try to play something, you'll get a warning that this mode is "experimental".