Music Hall MMF-5 Turntable (and Record Cleaners)

Want to review the latest CD reissue? Or a 30 year old LP you just picked up? Discuss it all here.
Rspaight

Music Hall MMF-5 Turntable (and Record Cleaners)

Postby Rspaight » Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:59 pm

I ain't no vinyl expert.

That's not a clever double-negative trick, either. I was one of those who jumped onto the CD bandwagon, dazzled by high-tech coolness and sheer snob appeal back in the early days. "Yeah, it's a cool album, but I'm waiting for it on CD." Countless records were traded in for pennies on the dollar for shiny CDs. I have owned a single turntable for the last nineteen years, a plastic direct-drive JVC that came as part of a rack system from a department store, and it was hardly used for last decade.

I started playing around with vinyl a bit in the last year or so, prodded on by the rantings at the Hoffman board and elsewhere. I shrugged. Sure, records were cool, but I just didn't get the hyperbole.

Then I did the Dylan shootouts on this site a little while ago. Under such intent listening conditions, I could hear some potential locked away in there, that glorious "euphonic distortion" as Thom calls it. My crappy turntable was the weak link.

So when the time came around for my annual toy purchase, I decided I didn't really need a Pocket PC after all, and plunked down some bucks for this black beauty.

It was, at first, a disaster.

Got it home, set it up. Big double-plinth, with the motor isolated from the arm. Nifty. Built-in level. Neato. First I strapped the belt onto the motor. Then, I slipped the heavy glass platter over the threaded spindle (to accomodate the included record clamp). Set the tracking weight. Dangled the little dangly anti-skate thing. Slapped on a record and prepared to experience audio nirvana.