Tales From The Who/Philly/Largo

Just what the name says.
lukpac
Top Dog and Sellout

Tales From The Who/Philly/Largo

Postby lukpac » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:54 pm

Since this board is 90% Who according to Mr. Hunte...

Wolfgang's has what (they claim) are the '73 Philly and Largo shows, nearly in their entirety:

The Who, Spectrum, Philadelphia, PA 12/04/1973

The Who, Center Largo, MD 12/06/1973

I'm not an expert on these shows, but Roger does say "Philly" at least once during the show listed as such. And then there's this and this:

As many of you already know, we've had a show up on the Vault for a while now from The Who identified as the Philadelphia 12/4/73 show. A few Vault regulars have stated in a separate forum thread that at least some tracks from this show are actually from The Who's 12/6/73 show at the Capital Center in Largo, MD, and they are correct. What has been on the Vault was an amalgam that was created for a single King Biscuit Flower Hour radio broadcast.
[...]
Now to the puzzle. It is well documented that The Who played in Boston on 12/3, Philadelphia on 12/4, and Largo, MD on 12/5. It is also well documented that the latter two shows were recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour. In fact you can hear the band mention "Philadelphia" several times during the 12/4 show on the Concert Vault.

Imagine our surprise, when we found the reels for the Philadelphia show, that they are all marked 12/3, not 12/4. They are marked consistently this way, and the studio engineer comments that are captured on tape also reference 12/3. We have included a few images of the tape boxes below.

Also interesting is they clearly have 16-track masters in their possession. Yet the shows posted sure seem taken from the same strange mixes that have always been around - mostly mono but with bits spread around here and there. If they have the masters, how did VFABP come about?